Sweating the Small Stuff

Standard

It’s 100° here, okay 94°, but who’s splitting hairs? When it’s this hot taking a baby out is a pain and leads to a sweaty mess.

This afternoon I had to run errands that COULDN’T wait and of course, when you have a baby an errand becomes an all-out chore. I’d like to pat myself on the back, though, because in the past three months I’ve become pretty darn efficient at: removing a sleeping kid from the car seat and placing in the wrap WITHOUT waking, setting up and breaking down a jogging stroller in the blink of an eye, and carrying an ungodly amount of junk along with a car seat, diaper bag, and lunch!

Today was no different. The only added factor was the heat and cash. Okay, I admit that’s an odd combination. I went about my normal routine which included running to the drug store, swinging by the gas station, and pulling through the drive-thru. Normally, these are all pretty easy tasks. The drug store requires me to take the kid in, but usually, the gas station requires a swipe of the card and no removing of said kid. Today, however, I had cash. You guessed it! That means I had to go in.

Okay, so the rule of thumb is NEVER leave a child in the car. Faced with this standard, I had a challenge. I needed to remove the kid, go in to pay and ultimately, come out and pump gas. So, I ask myself, “Do I remove the kid from the car seat or the car seat with the kid from the car?”

I did the latter, but after all was said and done, I was a sweaty mess. I mean, why I bothered to shower today, I have no clue.

Anyway, I really have no point this post. It’s just another day in mommy-hood that has me seeing the everyday in a whole new light. But I wouldn’t change it for the world!

 

Leave a Reply

