Music to My Heart

Standard

10 hours of uninterrupted sleep! Keeping my lil peanut on California time while in New York was the best thing I could’ve done. I couldn’t believe my nearly three month old was resting so well. What a little traveling trooper, long hour sleeper and all-around wonderful baby! But as quickly as the wind changes so does my little sweet pea’s sleeping habits.

10 hours out the window almost as soon as we arrived back home. Odd, I thought because keeping her on California time was supposed to make the transition back home easy. For about four nights she didn’t sleep very well; waking almost every two hours. Teething and growth spurts and environment changes, oh my! But as with everything baby, it was short-lived.

Two nights in a row, my girl has gone down around 10pm and slept until about 5am. Now, I realize this isn’t 10 hours of sleep each night, but I’ll take the seven and the happy baby I get to wake up to in the morning. What a joy it is to wake to coos, smiles and laughter first thing before my morning decaf! It’s music to my heart.

Trying to schedule my daughter has been a daunting task. I want her to sleep, eat and grow well and I want to make the best choices for her lifestyle. In a perfect world, she’d be in bed before 9pm and sleep until at least 6am, but I keep reminding myself she’s only three month’s. She’s going to bed without a fuss and not waking me in the middle of the night, so I’m perfectly happy with that. And who wouldn’t love waking to a cooing bundle of joy as the sun shines through the top of the bedroom window?

Does it get any better than that? If so, I can’t wait! This is the most happy my heart has ever been.

 

Leave a Reply

