You Got My Back?

Standard

While writing a post for bloggy moms, I started thinking about how we could all use a little less judgement and a lot more support. Amongst us moms, I mean.

We’re all mothers. We all face many of the same challenges. So why are we busy beating each other up rather than holding each other up? The one thing we have in common-taking care of our children–becomes the one thing that tears us apart.

We may not all agree with one another’s parenting styles, but why must we make those choices topics of such hot debate? Why can’t we discuss our viewpoints in a kind and helpful way and realize that what works for one, doesn’t always work for another. And frankly, keep our mouths shut and try walking in someone else’s shoes every once in a while.

In a previous post, What Would You Do?,I discussed my encounter with a mad-woman! She had two teenagers with her–whom I assume were hers. Instead of beating me up for what she thought I shouldn’t do, maybe she could’ve tried looking at the situation with an open mind and come to understand that all I wanted to do was take care of my child. In a recent article, the inspiration for my bloggy moms post, baring the breast in public while nursing was the hot topic that had commenters firing off their attacks of fellow women.

I just can’t understand in a world of Casey Anthony’s how women mothers could attack one another for doing what comes naturally. I know this sounds cliché, but “can’t we all just get along?”

Leave a Reply

