Opinions, You All Have ‘Em…

Standard

…and I WANT ‘EM!

Thanks to Liz at ‘a belle, a bean, & a chicago dog‘ and Jessica from ‘Four Plus An Angel‘ and their #SummerBlogSocial 2011 my bloggers block for today has been lifted.

Your Objective: Advice for Me 

Tell us about an element or two of your blog or social media presence that you are unsure of and would like opinions on.

A newbie, I am, however, familiar with several social media tools like facebook, linkedin and twitter. YouTube is a daydream, but I’m not sure if it’s an appropriate channel for this blog. I seem to lack optimization of these social media tools, with little active readers and a small online presence.

Here’s what I have done: The Anecdotal Baby has been added to a ton of traffic driving sites and it has it’s own facebook page and twitter account; all of which I’m very active at. I participate in link ups such as this and am currently offering my first fabulous giveaway that doesn’t even have one participant.

I know I’ve only been blogging for a little over a month, so maybe I’ve set my goals too high, too soon? Staying true to who I am, I write about what I know (or experience) in hopes that it’s interesting and helpful. After begging asking for products that I love from companies I respect–to offer busy, discerning moms who might not buy for themselves or have the budget for–I was sure an awesome giveaway would assist me in getting the word out. It just doesn’t seem like I’ve had the bites I’d imagined.

So, someone please share the secret, already! I look forward to hearing from all of you successful bloggers and enhancing my presence on the blogosphere.

7 responses »

  1. You really have your goals set with only blogging for one month. Good for you! I’ve just recently started working harder on my blog. What’s worked for me has been visiting other blogs and definitely commenting. I link up to several memes during the week as well. And, I tweet my latest blog post several times a day.

    As for the giveaway, I’m going to do my first one later this month, so I don’t have much advice other than there are link ups for those as well.

  2. I think it is great to have such big goals but I would give yourself time and be patient with the process. It takes a long time for people to remember your name and your blog and keep coming back. The more you engage in twitter and facebook and visiting other blogs the better your chances will be. Good luck!

  3. Samantha… Thank you! I’m with you on the discouragement. I am an all or nothing person and I jump in full force when I set my mind to something and usually set unrealistic expectations :/. I’m loving blogging as an outlet for writing about my experiences and as a place that I eventually hope will be filled with more mommas that are looking to laugh and share. But, whatever it becomes I’m happy that I have a place to journal my thoughts and I will keep working toward my goals. A girl’s gotta have something to work towards, anyway!

    Liz… I’m finding that out. I was surprised that I was able to achieve two sponsors for giveaways (one yet to come) so quickly out the gate with little followers. I am grateful for that. I’m definitely in it for the long haul!

    Thanks ladies for great feedback!

  4. It is a slow process, so I hope you are in it for the long haul! You have specific goals and clearly have thought about it a lot! Good luck as you go!

  5. I, too, am impressed by your goals. When I began my blog, I was discouraged at first by the lack of followers that I had. I’ve been at it for almost two years and only now have 50 followers. I have learned that it takes patience, a lot of social networking (which you clearly have underway), and a lot of participating in linkups, memes, and reading and commenting on other blogs.

    If I had use for a nursing cover, I would enter your giveaway in a heartbeat, but since I won’t be having anymore little ones, I think it would be unfair to win and not use!

    Good luck growing your blog and reaching your goals 🙂

  6. Missy… Yes! I’m a very much a goal setter, but I never seem to give myself leeway to reaching those goals; I want results yesterday. Thanks for the advice… it definitely takes building relationships to be successful at anything! I will work on the commenting and try to be more realistic about the time it takes. Thanks again!

  7. If you’ve only been at it for a month, you’ve set some big goals! I’m impressed. Like you, I like to work hard and see results. I’ve learned (almost 5 months with my blog) that it does take a lot of time to build the relationships. So give yourself time and keep at it. Also, visiting other blogs and comment, comment, comment. I know it takes a lot of time, but it really does help people find your blog too!

Leave a Reply

