Why I Cloth Diaper…

Standard

Whenever someone finds out I cloth diaper Lovebug I get a whole slew of questions. Isn’t it hard? Does it take up all of your time? What’s the advantage? What ever possessed you?

I was even inspired to write about the diaper revolution–I was not alone! From celebrity moms to play group mommies, more and more it seemed, were choosing cloth over disposable.

When I got pregnant with Lovebug I already had a lot of BIG ideas. I knew–for the most part–how I wanted to raise her. I’m not a “crunchy” person, though I just learned what that meant a few months ago. I’m just a mother concerned about making the best choices for my daughter that coexist with my family’s beliefs.

When it came to diapering, I was REALLY interested in cloth. I didn’t know much about it, but my mom had cloth diapered me and my husband’s mom him. So, if it was good enough for us…

I dragged accompanied my husband to a class–actually, he was excited to go. Really. And yes, they have classes for this stuff. I learned more than I could’ve imagined about diapers and poop, and even received a little chemistry lesson. We were presented with all the different types of cloth diapering choices, from AIO (all-in-one’s) to basic prefolds and covers. The instructor discussed chemicals found in disposables to make them absorbent while reminding us of the current landfill problem.

I like to think of myself as a social-conscious person; I think about my global footprint. I may not be driving a “green” car, but I do my part, like asking for paper instead of plastic and recycling through my neighborhood program. Though, not my main reason for cloth diapering I did feel like I was getting the added bonus of helping out the planet.

I hear you asking “Why in the world, then, would she choose to use a diaper she’d have to wash poop out of?”

I’m not crazy, really. Before getting pregnant I was healthy, so now that I was growing life that depended on me for everything, I kicked my health into high gear. So, why then, wouldn’t I continue that after the baby was born? If you’re wondering if there’s a correlation with less diaper rashes, there isn’t–yeah, cloth diaper wearers can get ’em too–but as I mentioned earlier, they don’t contain any chemicals. I liked that natural fibers were the only thing between me and my baby’s bum.

I hear you thinking “Great! Who likes chemicals anyway? But, isn’t it time consuming?”

Not at all. It may take a few extra seconds as I wash out the poopy dipes in my toilet with my fancy bidet, but after that I simply put ’em in a diaper genie until wash day; about every third day. I am a stay-at-home mom so it’s not a big deal that I have one more load of laundry. But, honestly, it wouldn’t be all the much more time consuming for a working mom either.

“So you cloth diaper, you must be anti-disposable?” I’m not. Like any thing you choose for your baby, it’s your choice. And, I believe there is a time and place for disposables. In fact, (shhhh) I use them when we travel. I’m not going to be washing and drying cloth diapers in a hotel room or in our RV at a campsite; it’s just not feasible. But, if I can keep Lovebug’s bum away from chemicals for the majority of the time, I feel better.

2 responses »

  1. Good morning, Courtney!

    Thanks for thinking of me. I do enjoy the battles each week, but I actually have a copy and didn’t want to enter and take away from someone else. Thanks again… enjoy your weekend!

    …Melissa

  2. Hey Melissa,

    I just wanted to remind you of our Battles this weekend. This time, we have a prize sponsor of a “What to Expect The First Year” book, being offered. I thought of you, and there are less linking up, because it’s a very specific prize. You’ll have a very good shot I think, if you’d like it;) Might be some good blogging material too.

    Oh, and I have no problem with disposables at all. Disposing of that diaper for all of the other travelers with you, is quite nice as well!
    ~Courtney

Leave a Reply

