How I Got To This Fabulous Place Called Mommyhood

Standard

One day, my egg met with my husbands sperm, literally, but magically it’s a wonderful story.

I’m linking up this week with Mommy of a Monster & twins and her Down the Aisle link-up- Favorite Wedding Photo. What a great idea! At The Anecdotal Baby I get caught up in the trials and tribulations of being a mommy, and I like that I can celebrate how that came about.

Those close to us know our history goes back roughly two decades–now I’m dating myself! Anyway, I can remember the day my now husband walked into my life.

Who knew at 1o, yes 10, that I’d one day marry the love of my life? I did! Kind of… He was the cutest–in my opinion–kid in the fifth grade. And the “bad boy”–though he’s actually really an awesome guy. I think for both of us it was instant attraction–I’ve always been a bit boy crazy since the first grade! We liked each other at school because, of course, we were too young to date. It was kind of an on-again, off-again kind of romance for junior higher’s.

High school came–and went–and we dated, again on and off; each having other relationships in between until it got pretty serious at 18. College was a dividing force… good and bad. A LOT of life happened in between, but I can honestly say we were ALWAYS friends; through thick and thin.

After some upset, moves across country and back, and life changing events for both of us, we ended up dating again. I always knew in the back of my heart that we’d end up together for the real thing… and we’d live Happily Ever After!

So, here’s a picture of the first day of the rest of our lives…

I think this pic sums up the feelings we've had for one another since the fifth grade... In fact, I think I see a bit of that youthful spark

6 responses »

  1. How cool that you have know each other for so long — pretty amazing. I hope you had plenty of old pics of you at the wedding. It looks like he was whispering something special to you in the pic – perfect!

  2. I ADORE this picture. There are so many feelings there, and I feel like I’m catching you both in a private, intimate moment…it’s perfect!

    And what a story…thank you for sharing!!

  3. Ahh, this is so sweet. I’m a sucker for romantic stories, in case you haven’t noticed all of our mommy romance stuff on our blog, including our Battles;) By the way, would you want to give us your Mr. Darcy story as a guest post? Sounds like you have one. Just check out our Mr. Darcy page. We’re working on a nice collection of them. And thank you so much for featuring our LaDy LaDuke here. I was reading your post below. I did send the Nouveau cover off to the winner, so I hope it finds her well.
    Courtney:)

    • I’d love to guest post! Thank you for asking. I guess this means I have to get my stuff together and write my memoir, lol. At least a chapter, anyway. I’ve been to the Mr. Darcy page, but haven’t had much of a chance to peruse it carefully–got a teething girl on my hands–so I’ll get over and take a better look and get started on my story. Thanks again! I’ll be in touch.

Leave a Reply

