Learning to Slow Down

Standard

A blogging friend of mine, Missy at Literal Mom, has inspired me with her post Why Doing Something for YOU is Imperative to Mental Health‘  to take a look at my own mental health.

My personality keeps me from slowing down. My wheels are always turning. I always have a goal in mind that I needed to meet yesterday. I’m getting better. No, really! And I’m doing it without the help of shrink.

We all need a little down time. A few moments to relax, reconnect with our spiritual side, inner being, what have you. When I got pregnant I began slowing my workouts. I took up yoga, again–yoga and I have had an on-again, off-again relationship, but it always made me feel so good. Being a healthy person and living a healthy lifestyle, when I got pregnant I just upped it a notch.

Yoga was my way to live healthy, mentally and physically. After having the baby, I put it aside again. I had to. I wasn’t supposed to be doing any physical activity for the first six weeks. Well, six weeks turned into three months. With a new baby and a change in everything, I was struggling to find “me” time.

Lovebug was one of those babies, in the beginning, that just didn’t want to be put down. And, being a new mom, I couldn’t find it in my heart to let her cry at the top of her lungs, so my arms were always full. That makes it difficult to do other things and easy to slack off.

Breast feeding moments became my down time. At first, this was REALLY difficult for me. Stop moving? Sit on the couch practically all day nursing a baby? I didn’t have a choice if I was going to breast feed. So, I embraced it.

It became time I could shut off my racing mind, the world around me and just be. Be free to relish in the bliss of my little girl. I was contented by the fact that she was happy, healthy, and I was the center of her universe. It was the first time I really, truly felt relaxed. Nothing else mattered. Everything took a seat on the back burner, and it was okay. If the laundry didn’t get done that day, no big deal. If the house didn’t get vacuumed, who cared? It really put life in perspective for me.

I have such a renewed look on life. It’s too short, so precious, and some things just really don’t matter. My mental health is better off for it.

I’m not going to lie. It was very difficult at first. It’s still a struggle for me. I have to work daily at letting go of the insignificant things, but it’s so worth it. I don’t want to miss out on the life I should be living.

3 responses »

  1. I totally struggled with slowing down too when my daughter was born. I’d sit there and say “Why does she take so long to nurse?” I can’t sit here for an hour! The house is a mess, dinner needs to be made! I think babies are God’s way of saying slow down, mama. Enjoy the ride b/c it’ll be over way too fast.

    • lol, Rach. I can really relate to your “Why does she take so long to nurse?” I thought I was doing something wrong when I’d finishing feeding for a whole hour and then an hour later she wanted to eat again! Glad she’s evolved, but it is such a special time.

  2. Ohhhh, you just made my day! Thank you so much for the kind words about inspiring you to slow down! And I can say that right now, as my youngest is turning 4 this week, I’m finally starting to take a breath too (since she was born – YES, 4 years of not slowing down). I took it in baby steps and am so happy you are too.

    Thanks again, have a great day! 🙂

Leave a Reply

