They Grow So Fast

Standard

On the 3rd of September, my little girl will be five months. Five months! Where did the time go? My how they grow so fast.

Today, I spent the whole day with her. Not unusual because I’m a stay-at-home mom, but what I mean is there was not one moment that I wasn’t holding her, or playing on the floor with her; she wouldn’t leave my side. She refused to nap today, so she was my little cling-on.

As we moved through my routine together, I was in awe of what she can do now. Sitting like a big girl in the high chair while I washed breakfast dishes, a normal occurrence these days, I couldn’t take my eyes off how much she is becoming a little person. Rolling around on the floor, lifting her body as she tries to crawl across it is her favorite past-time. She can even stand supporting her weight while lightly being guided by me or my husband. My newborn has grown so fast!

Among my chores today were digging out photos–I decided to finally start putting together some of the many scrapbooks I received at my baby shower–and cleaning the nursery. My tasks in the nursery included boxing up the three month clothes she no longer fits into, organizing prefolds–she’s in the next size up–changing the crib sheet, and some general cleaning.

While I was searching my photos and packing away clothes I came across the reminders that my baby is growing up.

Newborn bottoms stashed with some 3 month stuff... I still can't believe these were a little big on her back then!

I began flashing back to the days when I was sitting on the couch continually nursing, not getting much sleep as she woke every few hours, and wondering when she’d finally sleep through the night.

Snuggling with Lovebug

Did I rush her to grow so fast? Sometimes I’m a bit nostalgic for those newborn days. I know many hate them, but I relished all the snuggling and the way her little head would slightly droop on my chest as she was fast asleep. I remember complaining about having to hold her through the night because she refused to sleep on her own.

Long nights, little sleep

When she finally did sleep–in her bassinet–I was so excited to get four hours straight! Four long hours. I was so sleep deprived. With my now soon-to-be five month old sleeping 12 hours, that seems like nothin’! It’s only been five months since she graced us with her presence, and yet, she’s grown so fast.

Leave a Reply

